Old School Idea, New Internet-Driven Term

Before attempting to show up with a blog, I had to read and learn a lot. About blogging. About content. About giving my reader what they like (or desperately need) so they would come for more of it.

It is interesting to see how marketing whatever it is that you want your customers to buy from you on the internet is based on the same old school good business practices, and how taking care of your customers is still an extremely important part of any business. Online or offline.

What is even more fascinating is those people who know you, like you, appreciate you very much, but yet would not buy from you. What they do for you however is support your reputation. No, they are a huge part of creating your reputation. They tell people they know about what you’ve got, once they hear that those people have a need (or want) that you can meet.

Back a year ago when I was just learning about blogs, successful blogs that is, and what it takes to have one, I spent a lot of time reading articles by Sonia Simone on Copyblogger and Remarkable Communication. Opened up a Twitter account, and started ‘following’ her tweets from Copyblogger there. Well once I made a decision that a blog is something I can take on (after I totally failed with it a year ago), I resurrected my twitter account to find a twit to a great article about second customer by Sonia Simone. Old school idea, new internet-driven term. Who is second customer? I will tie it up, don’t worry.

Just the other day I finished my summaries of great ideas Wendy Kinney is sharing with the world in Networking Aerobics (look for it on the right in books, if you are curious). And here it is – networking is not handing out business cards; networking is introductions; networking is learning about people and introducing them to other people; their gratitude to you is repaid in connections and referrals. Yes, that is the word I was looking for – referrals.

Last May I was on one of weekly calls with the top earner in the company I do. He had a guest speaker, who at the time did not do this company. She is a generic trainer for network marketing companies. Her website was mentioned on the call, and of course being as curious as I and willing to learn (I love the word ‘coachable’) I went looking for what’s on there.

Yes, I ended up buying her orange book (look for it on the right – ‘If My Product Is So Great…’), and found out that when you speak language that a 13 year old can understand, people hear you actually, your words are actually penetrating their skull rather than bouncing off of it. Here is the phrase that is a back-bone of your closing statement ‘Do you know anyone who might like to know about a product like that?’ What you are essentially asking them is to give them referrals, not to buy from them. That is brilliant! I love that a lot.

So, second customer is your ally, the one who will talk about you online and offline. They will spread the word and bring you ready customers – or was it traffic? Both actually, when what you’ve got is really someone’s need or want, you want both people from a nearby small town and people from across the world. Just let them both of your customers know how much you appreciate them as persons and how much their business and loyalty means to you.

The company I do helps me do both in the way that is memorable to both of my customers – first and second. Thank you for your referrals – online and offline my dear friends.

Leave a Reply

